The Christiania (Christie) Derby is a ski race competition between the 50-odd clubs on Ruapehu. It is the oldest and one of the biggest races held on Ruapehu each year. 2022 will be the 64th Derby.
Derby is the first in a series of inter-club races and this year will be run on Saturday August 13.  In previous years this race has attracted between 150 – 200 racers and we anticipate that there will be similar numbers this year.
This event is competitive but it is also well patronised due to the fun element. The highlight of the event for many is prize giving and after-match function held at the Christiania Ski Lodge near the Rangatira Express chairlift


GS teams race - Christiania Derby

(4 people per team)
Juniors Team (under 17 at 1 January, at least 1 girl in team, whose time is counted)
Mens Team (open ages)
Ladies Team (open ages)
Masters Team (40 or over at 1 January and at least 1 lady in team, whose time is counted)
Snowboard Team (open ages)

Entry Fee

$30 per person

RulesSki Teams fastest three times count
Skiers can only race for one team
More than one team can be entered from each club in each category
Snowboards must be of conventional style - Squalls and Mono skis do not qualify for prizes.
Racers must wear a helmet and bib

RegistrationAll teams must complete the Entry Form and provide full payment via internet banking or when they pick up their Registration Packs at Christiania Ski Club, 7 to 9pm on 12 August, or Lorenz's, 8 to 8.45am, on the race morning. You can pre-register online prior but still need to collect registration packs from Christie lodge between 7 and 9PM on August 12 or from Lorenz's Cafe between 8 and 8:45AM on August 13.  It would help to bring a printed copy of your registration with you.
The Registration / Entry form is available here.
Your Race Day Booklet is available here

Race start10:00am at top of Te Heu Heu Valley (The Valley) or as advised if changed by RAL
Course inspection 9am to 9:30am from side of course

Prize GivingChristiania Ski Lodge, 6PM August 13. Tickets issued with registration packs only
Please note: - If your racers are under 18 yrs please make sure that your club sends a responsible adult and stays with them. We will have non-alcoholic drinks available. Christiania Ski Club is not responsible for under 18 year olds and their consumption of alcohol.

For further information please contact our club captain Rachel Ward at

Information on this page is subject to change please check back closer to the date of the event for final details.

Derby was not held in 2021 due to snow conditions

Derby was not held in 2020 due to Covid-19 restrictions

Derby was not held in 2019 due to bad weather

2018 Derby results

2017 Derby results

Derby was not held in 2016 due to bad weather

2015 Derby results

Derby was not held in 2014 due to bad weather

2013 Derby results

2012 Derby results

2011 Derby results